BSF Tennis League - This Week's Summer League Report
Return to Tennis Index

BSF TENNIS LEAGUE REPORT  -  by Stephen Maslivec (Men's League Secretary)


In Division 1 of the BSF Menís Tennis League, table toppers David Lloyd Chorley A continue their seasonís unbeaten run as they defeated their Bolton counterparts David Lloyd Abitare A by 8 sets to 1 in the latest round of matches.

The tennis season is now three quarters through and that thumping  win puts the Chorley team six points clear of second placed Chorley A and, with just three matches left to play, they are looking like  divisional champions for the sixth consecutive season.

Ellesmere A move into joint third place with Markland Hill A following their impressive 7-2 win over Chorley A, while Markland Hill defeated Hawkshaw A, 6-3 to consolidate their position.

At the other end of the division, it is not looking good for David Lloyd Abitare A. Their defeat by David Lloyd Chorley A keeps them rooted at the bottom on two points. Lostock A were promoted from Division 2 last season, but their tenure in the top flight now looks precarious following their 8-1 defeat by mid-table Holcombe Brook A. Lostock are now second bottom with just three points, four points behind Hawkshaw A.

In Division 2, Ellesmere B are looking good to join their A team in Division 1. The Worsley based team top the division following their 5-4 win against bottom placed Tyldesley A. Meanwhile, Leigh are also looking like promotion contenders and a return to the top flight following their 6-3 win against third placed Walmer A. Leigh are currently on sixteen points, one point behind Ellesmere and two points clear of Walmer. At the other end of the table, David Lloyd Abitare B were beaten 5-4 by Darwen, and that defeat keeps them in second bottom place with two points. Third bottom placed Elton Vale A had an open date fixture, but with seven points already in the bag, the Bury based team would be extremely unlucky if they were to be relegated at the end of the season.

In Division 3, each team has lost at least one match, but with nineteen points, Roe Green A currently top the division, two points ahead of Eagley A in second place. Roe Green finished mid table last season, but their 7-2 win against third placed Chorley B would indicate promotion to Division 2 is looking like a distinct possibility. In the bottom half of the division, four teams are in a relegation dog fight with three matches to play Ė Markland Hill B, Holcombe Brook B and David Lloyd Abitare C are each on seven points, one point above bottom placed Lostock B.

In Division 4, Hawkshaw B (twenty-one points) are already champions following their 8-1 demolition of bottom placed Bradshaw B. The Bury based team have remained unbeaten throughout and they fully deserve their return to Division 3 next season. Winton (thirteen points) are currently in second spot on sets difference from Ellesmere C, while Bradshaw C (three points) and Meadow Hill A (seven points) prop up the division.

In Division 5, itís a two horse race between Monton and Eagley B. Both teams are on twenty points, some six points ahead of Tyldesley B. At the other end of the division itís not looking good for both Markland Hill C and or David Lloyd Abitare D. Both teams have registered just two points each, and with Elton Vale B on eight points and with a superior sets difference tally, relegation is looming.

Chorley C (twenty-one points) are the only team in Division 6 to hold a one hundred percent record. In their last match they defeated third placed Astley and Tyldesley A, 5-4 and they are looking like champion favourites. Lostock C are currently in second place (seventeen points) following their 6-3 win against Markland Hill D.  Meanwhile, Hawkshaw D, who were promoted last season, are looking like relegation contenders, having secured just one point from their eleven matches played. Markland Hill D (six points) and Bellingham (five points) are now in a dog fight to avoid the second relegation spot.

In Division 7, itís looking like a two horse promotion race between Astley and Tyldesley B and Bradshaw C. The two title contenders were pitched against each other in the last round of matches, with Bradshaw taking the spoils 6-3. The win for Bradshaw keeps them one point behind Astley and Tydesley, and four points ahead of third placed Chorley C (twelve points). Meadow Hill B remain at the foot of the division following their narrow 5-4 defeat at Barrow Bridge B.