Bolton Sports Federation
Ladies' Hockey League

Return to Hockey front page

The Steel Cup final took place on Saturday 14th April. The sun shone for once. Roydon A played Little Lever A, the cup holders for last year. The first half was an equal game with Roydon A breaking and into the Little Lever defence and had three penalty corners but no goals. Jackie Walton for Roydon A managed to take the lead after 12 minutes. Little Lever answered that within a minute to level the score with a goal from Chloe Murphy after a rebound from the post.

The second half was a different game, with Roydon playing a more open game, putting pressure constantly on the Little Lever defence causing a number of penalty corners. A goal came from Vickie Hill to take the lead, and also Jackie Walton scored again to win 3-1. Winners of the Steele Cup, first contested in 1922 are Roydon A team.


The Davenport Cup final was between both Eagley teams, EagleyQuins and Eagley Tornadoes. Both teams were short of players. Eagley Tornadoes were under constant pressure, but the Tornadoes keeper made some amazing saves. The team could not defend against the constant pressure from EagleyQuins with goals from Jill Maher and Joanne….. to take it to 3-0 at half time. More goals came from EagleyQuins to take it to 6-0 before Eagley Tornadoes managed to dribble the ball past the Quins defence. Winner of the 2018 Davenport Cup are EagleyQuins.

Steele Cup Winners 2018 - Roydon A Davenport Cup Winners 2018 - EagleyQuins